ecoasia

Communcation web-site on ecology in Asia (and the rest of the planet)

On the Sustainability of Coastal Clean-up as an ICM Strategy

Hello everyone. I used to be a student of Professors Wittstock and Szell in CSR for Sustainable Development back when I was an exchange student in SNU. Now, my groupmates and I are conducting a study on a strategy of Integrated Coastal Management, particularly on Coastal Clean-up on one of our major historical landmarks in the Philippines - Manila Bay.

Every year of September 15, the International Coastal Clean-up is being done in coastal areas throughout the world. But, what has been a bit mind-boggling to us is that this clean-up strategy does not seem to fit the concept of attaining sustainable development.

I mean, the solid wastes are being cleaned out of the bodies of water, but the grade of water remains unchanged. And after the clean-up, a few days later (or probably a few hours later) another batch of garbage are bound towards the coasts.

Do you think that this Coastal Clean-up as an ICM strategy is just supplementary and not really meant for the pursuit of Sustainable Development?

I would like to know everyone's thoughts about this one. Domo arigatou/Kamsahamnida/Vielen danke and Thank you very much ^_^

(Manila Bay, Roxas Boulevard - Sunset)

(Solid waste meets Manila Bay in Navotas)

Views: 75

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Well, I would hope for the Keio people to comment on this, we're near the sea as well!
Hi Stephanie,

I think the ICM as a CSR-strategy should rest at least on two pillars. Cleaning up the waste and reducing further pollution to a minimum.